IDMA: Faculty

East Asian faculty are listed below by department.

Anthropology

Nicole Constable, Professor, PhD, University of California, Berkeley. Chinese society and culture. constabl@pitt.edu

Gabriella Lukacs, Associate Professor, PhD, Duke University. Japanese media studies. lukacs@pitt.edu

East Asian Languages and Literatures

Charles Exley, Assistant Professor. PhD, Yale University. Modern Japanese literature and film. exley@pitt.edu

Brenda G. Jordan, Secondary Appointment in EALL, PhD, University of Kansas. Japanese Art and Architecture, Assistant Director of Educational Outreach and Japan Studies Coordinator, Asian Studies Center. jordanb@ucis.pitt.edu

Mi-Hyun Kim, Lecturer, PhD, University of Hawaii. Korean language and linguistics. kimmh@pitt.edu

Stephen Luft, Lecturer, PhD, Ohio State University, Japanese language and linguistics. luft@pitt.edu

Hiroshi Nara, Professor and Chair, PhD, University of Kansas. Japanese language and linguistics, intellectual history, translation. hnara@pitt.edu

Elizabeth Oyler, Associate Professor, PhD. Stanford University. Premodern Japanese literature. eaoyler@pitt.edu

Kun Qian, Assistant Professor, PhD, Cornell University. Modern Chinese literature and film. qiankun@pitt.edu

Cecile Chu-Chin Sun, Professor, PhD, Indiana University (Bloomington). Classical Chinese literature and poetry. csun@pitt.edu

Yi Xu, Assiociate Professor of Chinese, PhD, University of Arizona. Chinese language and linguistics, Second Language Acquisition. xuyi@pitt.edu

English

Jinying Li, Assistant Professor. Film Studies. jinying@pitt.edu

History

Vincent Leung, Assistant Professor, PhD, Harvard University. Early Chinese history. vleung@pitt.edu

Raja Adal, Assistant Professor, PhD, Harvard University. Modern Japanese history. raja.adal@pitt.edu

History of Art and Architecture

Karen Gerhart, Professor, PhD, University of Kansas. Premodern Japanese art and architecture. kgerhart@pitt.edu

Minglu Gao, Research Professor, Modern and Contemporary Chinese Art. minglu@pitt.edu

Linguistics

Alan Juffs, Professor of Linguistics, PhD, McGill University (Canada). Second Language Acquisition, China. juffs@pitt.edu

Music

Andrew Weintraub, Professor, PhD, University of California at Berkeley. Indonesian music. anwein@pitt.edu

Political Science

Kay Shimizu, Research Assistant Professor, PhD, Stanford University. Japanese politics. kayshimizu@pitt.edu

Religious Studies

Clark Chilson, Associate Professor, PhD, University of Lancaster, U.K. Japanese medieval and contemporary religion. chilson@pitt.edu

Linda Penkower, Associate Professor, PhD, Columbia University. Chinese and Japanese Buddhism. penkower@pitt.edu

Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business

Josephine Olson, Associate Professor, PhD, Brown University. Japan. jolson@pitt.edu

Graduate School of Public and International Affairs (GSPIA)

Muge Kokten Finkel, Assistant Professor, PhD, University of Virginia. Japanese politics. mfinkel@pitt.edu

School of Law

Patricia Chew, Professor of Law, JD, University of Texas. China. chew@law.pitt.edu