Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh

Interdisciplinary Master of Arts in

East Asian Studies (IDMA)

Faculty

East Asian faculty listed by department

Anthropology

Nicole Constable, Professor, PhD, University of California, Berkeley. Chinese society and culture.

constabl@pitt.edu

Gabriella Lukacs, Associate Professor, PhD, Duke University. Japanese media studies.

lukacs@pitt.edu

Classics

Mae Smethurst, Professor, PhD, University of Michigan. Noh theater.

msmet@pitt.edu (joint appt. EALL)

East Asian Languages and Literatures

Katherine Carlitz, Adjunct Professor, PhD, University of Chicago. Chinese Literature; Assistant Director, Academic Affairs and China Studies Coordinator, Asian Studies Center.

kcarlitz@ucis.pitt.edu

William B. Crawford, Adjunct Associate Professor, PhD Indiana University. Classical Chinese literature and business
wbcraw@pitt.edu

Charles Exley, Assistant Professor. PhD, Yale University. Modern Japanese literature and film.

exley@pitt.edu

Mi-Hyun Kim, Visiting Lecturer, PhD, University of Hawii. Korean language and linguistics

kimmh@pitt.edu

Lisica, Cindy, Instructor, PhD, University of the Arts London. Contemporary East Asian visual culture.

lisica@pitt.edu

David O. Mills, Associate Professor, PhD, University of Michigan. Japanese linguistics and pedagogy.

dom@pitt.edu

Hiroshi Nara, Professor and Chair, PhD, University of Kansas. Japanese language and linguistics, intellectual history, translation

hnara@pitt.edu

Kun Qian, Assistant Professor, PhD, Cornell University. Modern Chinese literature and film.
qiankun@pitt.edu

Mae Smethurst, Professor, PhD, University of Michigan. Noh theater.

msmet@pitt.edu (joint appt. Classics)

Cecile Chu-Chin Sun, Professor, PhD, Indiana University (Bloomington). Classical Chinese literature and poetry.

csun@pitt.edu

Yi Xu, Assistant Professor of Chinese, Ph.D, University of Arizona. Chinese language and linguistics, Secong Language Aquisition.

xuyi@pitt.edu

Economics

Thomas G. Rawski, Professor, PhD, Harvard University. Economy of China and Japan.

tgrawski@pitt.edu

History

Martha Chaiklin, Assistant Professor, PhD, Leiden University. Premodern Japanese history, material culture.

chaiklin@pitt.edu

Vincent Leung, Assistant Professor, PhD, Harvard University. Early Chinese history.

vleung@pitt.edu

Evelyn Rawski, University Professor, PhD, Harvard University. Chinese and Korean history.

esrx@pitt.edu

Richard Smethurst, Professor, PhD, University of Michigan. Modern Japanese history.

rsmet@pitt.edu

History of Art and Architecture

Karen Gerhart, Associate Professor, PhD, University of Kansas. Premodern Japanese art and architecture.

kgerhart@pitt.edu

Minglu Gao, Associate Professor, Modern and contemporary Chinese art.

minglu@pitt.edu

Brenda G. Jordan, Adjunct Assistant Professor, PhD, University of Kansas. Japanese Art and Architecture, Assitant Director of Educational Outreach and Japan Studies Coordinator, Asian Studies Center.

jordanb@ucis.pitt.edu

Katheryn M. Linduff, Professor, PhD, University of Pittsburgh. Ancient Chinese art history.

linduff@pitt.edu

Linguistics

Alan Juffs, Associate Professor of Linguistics and Chair, PhD, McGill University (Canada). Second Language Acquisition, China.

juffs@pitt.edu

Yasuhiro Shirai, Professor of Linguistics, PhD, UCLA. Second Language Acquisition and Japanese Linguistics.

yashirai@pitt.edu

Music

Andrew Weintraub, Associate Professor, PhD, University of California at Berkeley. Indonesian music.

anwein@pitt.edu

Political Science

Pierre Landry, Associate Professor, PhD, Michigan. China.

pflandry@pitt.edu

Religious Studies

Clark Chilson, Assistant Professor, PhD, University of Lancaster, U.K. Japanese medieval and contemporary religion.

chilson@pitt.edu

Linda Penkower, Associate Professor, PhD, Columbia University. Chinese and Japanese Buddhism.

penkower@pitt.edu

Donald S. Sutton, Adjunct Professor, PhD, Cambridge University. China.

ds27@andrew.cmu.edu

Sociology

Akiko Hashimoto, Associate Professor, PhD, Yale University.Aging and war memories in Japan.

ahash@pitt.edu

Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business

Josephine Olson, Associate Professor, PhD, Brown University. Japan.

jolson@pitt.edu

Graduate School of Public and International
Affairs (GSPIA)

Davis Bobrow, Professor, PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technolog. East Asian Foreign Policy and Security Studies.

bobrow@pitt.edu

Muge Kokten Finkel, Assistant Professor, PhD, University of Virginia. Japanese politics.

mfinkel@pitt.edu

Simon Reich, Professor, PhD, Cornell University. Japan.

arsenal@pitt.edu

Sandra D. Williamson, Associate Professor, MA, University of Virginia. Japan.

sandraw@pitt.edu

 

School of Law

Patricia Chew, Professor of Law, JD, University of Texas. China

chew@law.pitt.edu